h1

Drawn Blood

June 16, 2009

My 9 month old had his blood drawn to check for anemia and lead poisoning. Apparently this is going to be done once every year for the next 3 years to make sure there my child is not inhaling lead dust.

I wonder what it is like for this little child whose mother is holding him so tight that he cannot move his head while 2 strange women are sticking a needle into his little arm. How betrayed does he feel that his father is standing in front of him singing itsy-bitsy spider while red stuff is being taken out of him?

Right after the needle was taken out, he calmed down to a sniffle, and by the time we were in the lobby he had stopped completely. There was only the subdued look while his father held him. I was later told by a coworker that he was processing the betrayal. A friend added that he was also plotting his revenge.

I hope our babies have short term memories.

2 comments

  1. Its not 3 years – the painful vaccinations go on till they are 5yrs of age – trust me!

    The worst part is trying to get the child anywhere in the vicinity of their Pediatrician, let alone close proximity! 😛 You have to promise on not having any sharp poky objects and even then a surprise gift is required to pacify the tantrum

    Mine has already given in, to the blissful throes of revenge – she wants to be a doctor. When queried why “so I can give everyone “EJECTIONS” Mumma! lol


  2. Oh so many Stewie Griffin lines running through my head…



Leave a comment